Passcode: n8hD0PPasscode: n8hD0P


ABC [Artists’ Books Cooperative] is an international group of artists, publishers, and educators seeking to create, engage, and experiment with the form of the book, and to foster alternative forms of distribution through collaboration. As well as working on our own practices, we work together to produce collective projects. Centered on book fairs and our online forum, we aim to develop a growing international network of artists.

We welcome enquiries and expressions of interest in membership. Send us an email or come and talk to us.

Click here for a list of members with links to their websites, and here for a selection of videos describing our various activities.


ABC is an informal association of equitable members who each contribute annually (currently 100 Euros) to share the cost of taking booths at book fairs and producing group projects. The cooperative grows by voting. If you would like to become a part of the ABC network, please apply with the following information here:

  • A short introduction to your practice and central interests, with reasons for wishing to join ABC.

  • A portfolio, as a pdf or as a link to your website.

ABC Shop

Many of our projects and individual artists’ works can be purchased on

ABC Assembly

ABC Assembly is an experiment in collective book production conducted at the  Khalil Sakakini Cultural Center - Ramallah, Palestine. Members of ABC, guest curator Alaa Mansour and invited artists  were asked to submit images and texts to a "manual of self-organisation” divided into six chapters decided by vote, after a web search for "tips on how to self-organise". 

During the exhibition the chapters will be printed on an office printer installed in the gallery and operated remotely.  At the conclusion of the exhibition the pages will be bound together and the project made available as a print-on-demand facsimile publication.

ABC Assembly is part of the exhibition But These Forms Need to Be Created an “exhibition and an attempt to explore forms of self-organisation” curated by Adele Jarrar. 

11th August - 11th October 2021
Khalil Sakakini Cultural Center

With contributions by Alaa Mansour (LB), Amin Husain (PS/US), Anja Saleh (DE), Claudia de la Torre (MX) Corinne Vionnet (CH), Daniel Elias (PS),  David Schulz (US), Dawn Kim (US), DROSS (UK), EJ Major (UK), Felix Kalmenson (RU), Hanaa Ismail (LB), Ian Paul (UK), John Maclean (UK),  Jonathan Lewis (UK), Jonathan Schmidt-Ott (DE), Lapsus (RO),  Louis Porter (UK), Micheál O’Connell/Mocksim (IE), Muhammad Salah (SD), Oliver Griffin (UK),  Rahel Zoller (DE/UK), Wil van Iersel (NL), Ziad Naitaddi (MA) 

ABCOA, 2021

ABC Artists’ Books Cooperative invited interested and interesting friends, and even frienemies, to contribute to this superb project. Each participant supplied a Certificate of Authenticity (CoA) but with the CoA itself being the artefact. In other words, each document referenced itself. You are advised not to dwell on this conundrum for too long in the interests of your own mental health. Initiator: Micheál O'Connell.

60 loose sheets, A4, 80gsm, non-archival paper and not printed at full-bleed. (Note that ABCOA is produced and shipped in the low-tech spirit or the mail art tradition. The standard envelope may become marked or slightly tattered in transit, and that is seen as part of the project’s charm.)

Price incl. p&p: €30.00

Contributors: Aaron Krach, Aisling Roche, Alfred Steiner, Andreas Schmidt, Cadi Froehlich, Carritt and Palmer (Jon Carritt and Dan Palmer), Chengwei (Sunny) Geng, Clare Strand, Claudia de la Torre, Corinne Vionnet, Craig Havens, Dafna Talmor, Daniel Pryde-Jarman, Daniella Norton, David Schulz, Duncan Wooldridge, Edgar Leciejewski, Eric Doeringer, Fiona Winterflood, Greg Allen, Irene Fubara-Manuel, Jan Basarab, Jenny Odell, Joachim Schmid, Joanna Zylinska, Jocelyn Allen, John MacLean, Jonathan Lewis, Jonathan Monk, Jonathan Schmidt-Ott, Julie Samuels, Kenneth Goldsmith, Klara Vith, Lisa Levy, Louis Porter, Lucas Gabellini-Fava, MacDonaldStrand (Gordon MacDonald and Clare Strand again), Michalis Pichler, Micheál O'Connell (Mocksim), Mike Stoakes, Miriam O'Connor, Mishka Henner, Motion Sickness (Denise Kehoe, Eleanor Breeze and Arabella Hilfiker), Natalia Jaffe, Oliver Griffin, Paul Soulellis, Penelope Umbrico, Peter Morgan, Rahel Zoller, Roy Mehta, Sarah Brenneman, Scott Robertson, Susan Diab, Suzanne O'Haire, Sveinn Fannar Jóhannsson, Tomasz Madajczak, Travis Shaffer, Wayne Daly and Wil van Iersel.